Divorce me now! 

A message for soul sister. I need your response, friends.

This is my new song

This is my mantra

And I will keep repeating it until I get what I want.

I refuse to be married again.

I want my freedom from his deceit.

Soul Sister, he deceived me. I cannot continue this marriage of deceit. I have every right to leave.

Dear husband was a course mate back in the university. We were just friends.

DH was not in the class of guys I dated. He knew his bound and never overstepped it.

I even sampled his opinion on my guys. DH always gave sound opinions, and I liked him for it.

When he jokingly said he knew he couldn’t have me because of his financial status, I concurred.

Believe me, Soul Sister, I didn’t mean it.

Truly, I got good and expensive gifts from my guys. DH tutored me instead.

Then I met DH sometime back.

He could pass for a rock star. Where was the geek who I was comfortable befriending back then?

DH was a new man.

We connected to each other like a chain to a dog’s neck.

Our love was easy: two friends getting it right.

In a blink, our prints marked the aisle.

We got on the path of forever.

The glimmer and shimmer of her wedding was the talk of town.

But I discovered too soon we had more doom than bloom.

Where was the splendour he showed me while we courted?

Why was it difficult to get money for what we need?

Why did he wake up to his laptop instead of dressing up to the big consultant firm he told me about?

Where was the jeep that picked me often after work?

Why had the trips to top restaurants stopped?

My questions wouldn’t stopped, and DH confessed.

Nothing was as it seemed.

The glimmer was just a mirage; nothing was real.

Hey, DH deceived me.

But he wouldn’t see it as deceit. He said it was love.

Love for me all these years.

Love he couldn’t afford until he used his head.

Now, he had that love.

Soul Sister, I want out of this marriage.

DH married me with lies. I refuse to believe in his love.

What do you think?

Author: Faith Prosper-Idolor

Faith Prosper-Idolor is a lover of inspirational Christian fiction, and she finds pleasure writing in this genre. Her love for writing and passion for youth evangelism have inspired stories with a rich blend of fiction and inspiration that cut across love, faith and family. She writes stories as inspired by God to touch the lives of her readers.

8 thoughts on “Divorce me now! ”

  1. This is great ma. A warning to singles who quickly fall for the glimmer… Love the rhymes gloom/doom. Thank you for this piece. Take my dab offering…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice piece, well what I think is dt she stays put in the marriage nd try to get a job and as wel continue to pray until God helps them financially. It is already too late to pull out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

